Caldwell, De Nardi joint Ganzer winners

Taj StubberAlbany Advertiser
Scott Ganzer presents the Les Ganzer Medal to Gnowangerup’s Tyler Caldwell, who tied with Newdegate’s Trent De Nardi.
Camera IconScott Ganzer presents the Les Ganzer Medal to Gnowangerup’s Tyler Caldwell, who tied with Newdegate’s Trent De Nardi.

Gnowangerup’s Tyler Caldwell and Newdegate’s Trent De Nardi have become joint Les Ganzer Medal winners after tying for the Ongerup Football Association’s league fairest and best award at a vote count last Sunday afternoon.

The pair finished locked on 14 votes after they stormed home in the final five rounds of the season to chase down early leader Matt Campbell.

Boxwood Hill’s Campbell led with 13 votes after the completion of round 10, with Caldwell on seven and De Nardi on five.

De Nardi polled three votes in the final round and in the same game Caldwell earned two votes to leave them together on 14.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Campbell failed to poll in the final five rounds and finished third on 13, followed by Scott Anderson (Gnowangerup) and Michael Swarbrick (Boxwood Hill), who collected 12 votes and Gnowangerup’s Will Limbert (10 votes).

De Nardi in his first season in the competition as a travelling player has been a shining light for Newdegate, who went down to Gnowangerup in the preliminary final on Saturday.

Caldwell has been a big part of Gnowangerup’s success this year, helping them make the grand final for a fourth straight season.

In the reserves fairest and best count, Boxwood Hill’s Brett Plane took out the Kelly O’Neill Trophy with 14 votes edging out teammates Jarred King (12) and Jeremy Nelson (8).

Jerramungup’s Jayden Morton won the junior fairest and best after polling 29 votes to finish ahead of Gnowangerup’s Murray Hayward (24).

In other OFA awards announced, Luke Bairstow was named the fairest and best winner at the Landmark Country Football Championships and Cody Harris was recognised as the OFA’s best player at the Great Southern Colts Carnival.

Newdegate’s Dean Rintoul won the leading goal kicker award, Mitchell O’Neill was named rookie of the year, George Chircop was volunteer of the year and Chris Norton won field umpire of the year.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails