Bulls charge their way to unlikely title

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser

Mt Barker produced a stunning grand final upset to clinch back-to-back Albany Cricket Association B-grade premierships, downing the previously unbeaten Narrikup at Hard North on Sunday.

After the grand final was postponed because of rain on Saturday, the decider got started in far better conditions on Sunday as the all-conquering Narrikup looked to complete their dominant season with a maiden B-grade title.

Narrikup's Bryce McLean defends.
Camera IconNarrikup's Bryce McLean defends. Credit: Albany Advertiser

Narrikup won the toss and batted first, with key duo Alec Haskins and Bryce McLean making a strong start before young Bulls wicketkeeper Jye Williss took an outstanding catch off Tynan Coffey to remove Haskins on 23.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


McLean fell soon afterwards when he was run out on 16 and those two dismissals triggered a collapse as Narrikup lost 5-26 in the middle order as they slumped to 7-75.

Narrikup's Alec Haskins defends.
Camera IconNarrikup's Alec Haskins defends. Credit: Albany Advertiser

Rodney Light hit three sixes and two fours in his fighting 33, while valuable late runs from Jake Poad (12 not out) and Craig Halligan (14) helped Narrikup surpass 100.

Youngster Noah Middleton snared both Light and Halligan to return 2-34, while Tynan Coffey finished with 4-12 from his terrific nine-over spell as Narrikup were all out for 136.

Tynan Coffey hit a six with his first scoring shot in the opening over and his intent was clear as the Bulls made a solid start to the run chase.

Mt Barker keeper Jye Willis after taking a catch to remove Narrikup's Alec Haskins.
Camera IconMt Barker keeper Jye Willis after taking a catch to remove Narrikup's Alec Haskins. Credit: Albany Advertiser

He and Middleton shared in a 54-run opening stand before Josh Wesson removed the latter on 12 but Coffey blasted his way towards a half-century.

Williss (1) went cheaply and Liam Wesson had two scalps when Tynan Coffey held out on 46 to leave his side 3-67.

Another wicket to Josh Wesson and two more to Liam Wesson had the Bulls in trouble at 6-83 as the momentum had quickly swung back to Narrikup.

When captain Brett Greeney fell on nine, handing Wesson his fifth wicket, the Bulls still needed 46 to win with three wickets in hand.

Mt Barker's Tim Beech celebrates running out Narrikup's Bryce McLean.
Camera IconMt Barker's Tim Beech celebrates running out Narrikup's Bryce McLean. Credit: Albany Advertiser

Riley Coffey made a vital 20 before he was run out but Tim Beech (13 not out) and Craige Anning (10 not out) steered their side home, finishing on 8-138 with nine overs to spare as they claimed an unlikely premiership.

Tynan Coffey was named man of the match in the grand final, completing a remarkable finals series for the Bulls, who won their final regular season match to sneak into fourth and then beat all three sides above them on the way to the title.

Meanwhile, Denmark claimed their maiden C-grade premiership after a strong batting performance lifted them to victory over Narrikup at Tigerland.

Denmark claimed the C-grade premiership.
Camera IconDenmark claimed the C-grade premiership.

The Magpies had plenty of contributions with the bat, led by Shawn Meek, who top-scored with 59, while Jeremy Newman (39) and Daniel Reid (30 not out) helped them reach an imposing 6-233.

Narrikup made a good fist of the run chase as Jeremy Watson (44) and Cameron Higgins (26) did their best to haul in the big target but it proved too much as they finished on 8-173, falling 60 runs short.

Meek was named man of the match, while John Best Jr claimed the big scalps of John Miell and Aldo Lionetti in his 3-38.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails