Bigger-bodied players highlight Great Southern Storm colts squad to represent GSFL at carnival football

Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Email Cameron Newbold
Great Southern Storm players Carson Flower and Xavier Brenton-Reed with coach Glynn Verbruggen.
Camera IconGreat Southern Storm players Carson Flower and Xavier Brenton-Reed with coach Glynn Verbruggen. Credit: Laurie Benson

The Great Southern Storm have named a colts squad that features a host of bigger-bodied players with senior league experience ahead of the upcoming Great Southern Colts Carnival in Kulin next month.

An initial 40-man squad has been named this week in preparation for the Great Southern Colts Carnival on June 12 and 13 and then the Nutrien Ag Country Football Championships on July 10-11 in Perth.

Storm head coach Glynn Verbruggen is excited by the overall evenness of the colts squad that represents the Great Southern Football League at carnival level.

There was no carnival football last year because of COVID-19, and Verbruggen said there are a host of young, fresh faces ready to put their best foot forward.

“With COVID last year we have quite a few players that will be making their first appearance for the Storm at carnival footy,” Verbruggen said.

“Everyone involved is super-excited to have carnivalval footy back up and running again and to see the best kids in the Great Southern running out together.

“This is probably the most even squad the Storm has had since I’ve been involved and it will be very difficult to pick the travelling teams.

“We’ve got a lot of players that are playing very good senior footy.

“We are slightly taller and bigger than years gone by and we have four kids that are ruckmen for their league teams.”

The squad will have their first training at Sounness Park on Monday from 6pm.

Royals have the most players in the squad represented by 12 members while Railways and Mt Barker have seven each.

North Albany are represented by six, five Albany players have been included and Denmark-Walpole have three.


Albany: Luke Mowaljarlai Jr, Max Baker, Sean Keightley, Flynn Breuker, Marlin Bennett.

Denmark-Walpole: Noah Madaffari, Jarrod Brack, Jesse Court.

Mt Barker: Kyle Smith, Tristan Ballard, Darcy Wallinger, Jye Willis, Ben Kirkwood, Seth Jones, Seb Ballard.

North Albany: Aden Castlehow, Lachy Hansen, Louis Stratico, Heath Ravenhill, Kobi Keen, Rhori Williams-Jolley.

Railways: Coen Jackman, Harry Hordacre, Xavier Brenton-Reed, Jaxon McLean, Mohit Jaggi, Tom Gawned, Jack Stephens.

Royals: Jared Hayes, Connor Lazar, Seb Stanton, Ben Altus, Cooper Childs, Lorcan McNamara, Carson Flower, Carson Bristow, Will Cousins, Liam Buss, Ryley Valli, Ryan Lazar.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails