Batchelor chases memorial three-peat in new division

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Jason Batchelor has switched to street stocks.
Camera IconJason Batchelor has switched to street stocks. Credit: SWB Photography

Jason Batchelor will chase a slice of history when he is among strong fields racing for the Noel Pearson Memorial at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway on Saturday night.

Running since 1989, the memorial is awarded to the highest point-scoring Albany Speedway Club member at a chosen meeting each season.

Batchelor will look to become only the second driver to win the memorial in three consecutive years, a feat previously achieved by formula 125 competitor Sam Jewell.

Jewell won the title in 2013-14 and then again in the next two seasons and he will be gunning for a fourth success on Saturday after nominating for the club’s second meeting.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Batchelor shared the memorial with Hayden Mortimer in 2017-18 and won it outright last season.

He has switched from production sedans to street stocks this season and will be up against a field of at least eight competitors.

Sean Theyer, a joint winner with Jewell in 2015-16, is among an impressive list of modified sedan nominations for Saturday night.

Visiting drivers Rick Musarra, Coby and Paul Stevens and Brendan Selleck will take on locals Theyer, Matt Kata, Calon Ball, Merv and Bill Penn.

Formula 125s, junior sedans, limited sprintcars and production sedans are also on the program with the total car count already beyond 50.

Gates open at 4pm and racing kicks off at 6pm on Saturday.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails