Awards cap duo’s season

Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Email Cameron Newbold
Ambassadors' Ryan Barber.
Camera IconAmbassadors' Ryan Barber. Credit: Laurie Benson Albany Advertiser

Young guards Ryan Barber and Indianna Weeden, pictured below, have taken home the major senior awards as the 2018-19 Albany Basketball Association season came to an end on Friday night.

Announced following the senior grand finals, Barber claimed his first men’s A-grade most valuable player award after a brilliant season with Ambassadors.

Barber missed just one game in the regular season for Ambassadors, eight of those matches registering double-figure points as he polled 41 votes to edge out The Farm Athletics big man Kalin Lane.

Lane finished runner-up in the season MVP with 34 votes while Barking Owls veteran and multiple former winner Justin Benson was third on 32.

They were followed by Owls pair Brody Hickey (30 votes) and Shaun Rost (28), and Kinjarling Thunder’s Sam Finigan rounded out the top six with 27 votes.

Weeden was a shining light for Flames in a season that contained only two wins in the regular season, averaging 9.75 points per game.

Flames' Indianna Weeden.
Camera IconFlames' Indianna Weeden. Credit: Albany Advertiser

The teenager finished the season with a flurry, to win her maiden women’s A-grade MVP crown with 41 votes.

Weeden scored 23 in early December and then in her final five games of the normal season reached double figures.

Magpies guard Jasmyne Jones finished runner-up after collecting 38 votes in a terrific season and Panthers star Kayla Thomas was third on 35. Panthers’ Jade Dimer (26) and Magpies’ Nardia Humphries (23) rounded out the top five.

Barber was also recognised with the Haydn Kirkwood Trophy for the best under-18 male player in the competition.

Weeden was awarded the best under-18 female player for the season.

The Albany Advertiser All-Star teams were revealed for both women’s and men’s A-grade. The men’s team consisted of Rost, Barber, Benson, Tom Edwards and Henrick Alforque with Lane and Finigan the two reserves. The women’s team consisted of Dimer, Weeden, Nardia Humphries, Cassandra Cheetham, Jones and reserves Alyssa Ward and Thomas.

The Reside family trophy for services to basketball was awarded to Aleesha Narkle, who was also named senior referee of the season. The Charlie Upson Memorial junior sportsperson award went to Tahliah Dimer and she also won the junior referee award.

Other season MVP winners were Zane Marwick (men’s B-grade division 1), Laura Archer (women’s B-grade division 1), Quinn Barber (men’s B-grade division 2), Ben Brown (men’s B-grade division 3), Andrea Mentha (women’s B-grade division 2) and Greg Galos (men’s vets).

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails