Award recognition for Leary’s dedication

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
2018 Mike Stidwell Medal winner Scott Leary, left, with Jill Stidwell and Minister Mick Murray.
Camera Icon2018 Mike Stidwell Medal winner Scott Leary, left, with Jill Stidwell and Minister Mick Murray. Credit: DLGSC

Long-serving Albany Volleyball Association volunteer Scott Leary has been recognised for his outstanding contribution to the sport over more than 20 years after winning the 2018 Mike Stidwell Medal.

The annual award honours the memory of former Department of Sport and Recreation regional manager Mike Stidwell and his contribution to sport and recreation in the region.

It was presented to Leary as part of National Volunteer Week.

Leary has been involved with the AVA for 26 years in administration and as a player.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


He was judged the winner of the award from a list of 13 nominees.

During his 26-year stint with the association, Leary said he had spent most of it as the treasurer and also vice-president for a couple of years — all the time while playing a game he loved.

“Predominantly I’ve been the association’s treasurer but not this year, I’ve just stepped off actually,” he said.

“Keeping the sport of volley-ball going and keeping the profile up, that’s the reason we keep doing it.

“We enjoy playing as well.

“I still play, even though my knees say ‘think about it’, and at nearly 53 there are not too many older than me down there playing.

“As part of Volunteer Week, you can see the benefit of community and people get involved not just with volleyball but with all sorts of clubs.

“I was staggered to win in such a great field — it’s been very humbling.”

Other nominees were Amy Chadbourne, Damien Stevens and Richard Doak (Lower Great Southern Hockey Association); Benjamin Quartermaine (Wanderers Cricket Club); Dave Cooper (Mt Barker Rifle Club); Bernice Climie (Cranbrook Sporting Club); Ferne Faulkner (West Plantagenet Pony Club); Gail Butterworth (Katanning Netball Association); Ernest Stutley (Gnowangerup Football Club); Jackie Boyce (Albany Junior Cricket Association); Harrier Healy (Mt Barker Amateur Swimming Club); and Joe Burton (Great Southern Football League).

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails