Albany eyes WACA return

Tim EdmundsAlbany Advertiser
Albany’s Nathan Crudeli.
Camera IconAlbany’s Nathan Crudeli. Credit: The West Australian, Ben Crabtree The West Australian. 20/12/2015

Albany Cricket Association is aiming to return to the WACA Ground but will have to knock over some of the better cricketers in the State starting on Sunday.

The ACA will contest round 1 of the new and revamped Country Cup competition which begins at Clayton Road Oval in Narrogin, a far cry from the home of cricket which will host the final in December.

And standing in their way will be an unknown opponent in the WA Invitational XI made up of some of regional WA’s best players.

The white-ball one-day competition, in pilot mode this season, replaces the longstanding Country Cup competition which had a hiatus last season for the first time since it was introduced in 1980- 81.

Albany was the last winner of the Twenty20 Country Cup competition in 2016-17 when they defeated Bunbury to clinch the cup for the first time since 1986-87.

Six players remain in the squad from the winning team, confident of finishing in the top two of the four-team round robin inter-association competition which includes Bunbury and Busselton-Margaret River.

Three debutants have been named in the ACA squad including top-order batsmen Mitch Green and Nathan Crosby and English import Riecko Parker-Cole.

The ACA XI will be captained by Zane Marwick with the strong batting line-up also including six of last season’s top 10 leading run scorers.

The top two teams from the round robin stage will then play off in the final at the WACA Ground on Sunday, December 2.

The WA Invitational XI is made up of players from outside of the rival associations who aim to be selected in the final touring WA Country XI squad in January.


Zane Marwick (c), Nathan Crosby, Mitch Green, Nathan Crudeli, Jeremy Wood, Harry Broomhall, Nathan Dovey, Coen Marwick, Riecko Parker-Cole, Aidan Dallimore (wk), Ben Grey.


Tim Hutchison (c), Bevan Bennell, Aaron Burrage, Jay Collard, Rod Ford, Arron Quartermaine, Cody Bone, Luke Gollan (wk), Ian Bowes, Chris Loveridge, Liam Renton, Ringo McKenna.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails